About SQTE

The FWF project ‘School Quality and Teacher Education’ (SQTE) conducts research on the historico-political, social and pedagogical factors of successful school quality development and school turnaround in England (1990-2020). Which policies and initiatives enabled school development? Which measures contributed to the compensation of social disadvantage in London and other regions of England, which received worldwide attention?

In order to find answers to these questions, headteachers of successful and highly effective schools in England were interviewed on their experiences with school quality development. What were the central levers to improve their schools? How did they suceed in raising the learning outcomes of pupils? How can we utilize their experiences for the practices of school development, teacher development and headteacher training in the Austrian context?

The project focuses particularly on schools in difficult circumstances that attain excellent learning outcomes despite a high proportion of pupils from disadvantaged home backgrounds; specifically, the research looks at schools in deprived areas of London that have improved considerably over the last 15 years in the context of the „London effect“. Funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF), the project is based at the Kirchlich Pädagogische Hochschule Vienna/Krems (former: University of Salzburg) and the University of Oxford.

On this website, we regularly inform about the project’s progress and insights. In this regard, a first interim report was published in March 2020, which you can find under the menu item Publications or here directly.

Video

Here you can see the current video from the research project.

Funded by a generous grant from the Austrian Science Fund (FWF)

KPH Vienna/Krems - University of Salzburg

The project is located at the Kirchlich Pädagogische Hochschule Vienna/Krems (until August 2021: School of Education, University of Salzburg).

The project lead is Roland Bernhard. His principal collaborators at the University of Salzburg were Ulrike Greiner, head of the School of Education, and Burkhard Gniewosz, professor of educational sciences.

Wien, Karlskirche, Österreich

University of Oxford

The project is partially located at the University of Oxford’s Department of Education in the context of a Visiting Research Fellowship, for which the University of Oxford has generously provided an office and additional infrastructure in 2019 and 2020. Dr Bernhard’s principal collaborators in Oxford are Katharine Burn, Associate Professor in Education, and Pam Sammons, Professor of Education, who specialises in school effectiveness and improvement research. The project complies with the guidelines issued by the University of Oxford’s Central University Research Ethics Committee (CUREC), which has reviewed and approved it. The SQTE project is continuing and consolidating the existing collaboration between the Kirchlich Pädagogische Hochschule Vienna/Krems (former: School of Education, University of Salzburg), and the University of Oxford.

Aktuelles

Thursday March 31st, 2022

Publication of the EULEAD Summer School presentations on video

Here you can find video presentations of the EULEAD Summerschool 2021. Download links to the videos here
Sunday March 27th, 2022

All presentations within the framework of the project – as of April 2022

Presentations, conferences and symposia within the framework of the project as of April 2022. Download information sheet
Sunday September 5th, 2021

Conducting a focus group discussion with school principals in the context of the Eulead Summerschool in Stift Göttweig

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes „School Quality and Teacher Education“ wurde unter Mitwirkung von Critical Friend RL HR Mag. Dr. Michael Sörös, Dipl.-Päd. Heidemarie Svehla und zahlreichen […]

Über SQTE

Im FWF-Projekt „School Quality and Teacher Education“ (SQTE) werden historisch-politische, soziale und pädagogische Rahmenbedingungen von erfolgreicher Schulqualitätsentwicklung und School Turn-Around in England (1990-2020) untersucht. Welche politischen Rahmenbedingungen und Initiativen machten die Schulverbesserungen möglich? Welche Maßnahmen trugen zu dem weltweit beachteten Ausgleich sozialer Benachteiligung durch Schulen in London und in anderen englischen Regionen bei?

Um diese Fragen beantworten zu können, werden Schulleiter/innen erfolgreicher und hochgradig effektiver Schulen in England zu ihren Erfahrungen mit Schulqualitätsentwicklung befragt. Was waren die zentralen Hebel, um ihre Schulen zu verbessern? Wie gelang es ihnen, die Lernergebnisse der Schüler/innen zu erhöhen? Was können wir in Österreich von ihren Erfahrungen potenziell für die Praxis der Schulentwicklung, für die Lehrerbildung, für die Ausbildung von Schulleiter/innen und für die Bildungspolitik lernen?

Insbesondere Schulen in schwierigen Rahmenbedingungen, die trotz eines hohen Anteils benachteiligter Schüler/innen und eines hohen Anteils von Schüler/innen mit Migrationshintergrund exzellente Lernergebnisse erzielen, stehen im Zentrum des Interesses. Ein besonderes Augenmerk wird auf Brennpunktschulen in London gelegt, die sich im Zuge des „London Effects“ in den letzten 15 Jahren stark verbesserten. Das vom österreichischen Wissenschaftsfond (FWF) geförderte SQTE-Projekt wird an der Kirchlich Pädagogischen Hochschule Wien/Krems (zuvor: Universität Salzburg) und der Universität Oxford durchgeführt.

Auf dieser Webseite informieren wir regelmäßig über Fortschritte und Erkenntnisse, die aus dem SQTE Projekt entwachsen. In diesem Zusammenhang erschien im Februar 2020 der erste Forschungsbericht, den Sie unter dem Menüpunkt Publikationen finden oder hier direkt einsehen können.

Video

Hier sehen Sie das aktuelle Video aus dem Forschungsprojekt.

Finanziert durch großzügige Drittmittel des österreichischen Wissenschaftsfonds

KPH Wien/Krems - Universität Salzburg

Das FWF Projekt ist an der Kirchlich Pädagogischen Hochschule Wien/Krems (bis August 2021: School of Education der Universität Salzburg) angesiedelt.

Das Projekt wird von Roland Bernhard geleitet. Hauptprojektpartner an der Universität Salzburg waren Ulrike Greiner, Leiterin der School of Education und Burkhard Gniewosz, Professor für Erziehungswissenschaft.

Wien, Karlskirche, Österreich

Universtät Oxford

Ein Teil des Projektes ist im Rahmen eines Visiting Research Fellowships an der Universität Oxford, Department of Education angesiedelt. Die Universität Oxford stellte dafür im Jahr 2019 ein Büro und weitere Infrastruktur zu Verfügung. Hauptprojektpartnerinnen in Oxford sind Katharine Burn, Professorin für Lehrerbildungsforschung und Pam Sammons, Professorin für Schuleffektivitäts- und Schulverbesserungsforschung. Das Projekt entspricht den Richtlinien der Central University Research Ethics Committee (CUREC) der Universität Oxford und wurde nach einer Begutachtung von CUREC bewilligt. Im Rahmen des SQTE-Projektes soll die Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Universität Oxford und der Kirchlich Pädagogischen Hochschule Wien/Krems (zuvor: School of Education der Universität Salzburg) weiter ausgebaut werden.

Donnerstag, der 31. März 2022

Veröffentlichung der Vorträge der EULEAD Summerschool auf Video

Hier finden Sie Vorträge im Rahmen der EULEAD Summerschool 2021 auf Video. Hier Links zu den Videos herunterladen
Sonntag, der 27. März 2022

Alle Vorträge im Rahmen des Projektes – Stand April 2022

Hier finden Sie Vorträge, Konferenzbeiträge, Tagungen und Symposien im Rahmen des Projektes mit Stand April 2022. Download information sheet
Sonntag, der 5. September 2021

Durchführung einer Fokusgruppendiskussion mit Schulleiter/innen im Rahmen der Eulead Summerschool in Stift Göttweig

Im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes „School Quality and Teacher Education“ wurde unter Mitwirkung von Critical Friend RL HR Mag. Dr. Michael Sörös, Dipl.-Päd. Heidemarie Svehla und zahlreichen […]