Project assistant Christina Hasenhüttl starts master’s programme in Comparative Education at the University of Oxford

Master’s Thesis in the SQTE Project
05/10/2020

Project assistant Christina Hasenhüttl starts master’s programme in Comparative Education at the University of Oxford

In October 2020, Christina Hasenhüttl joined the SQTE project and enrolled in the University of Oxford’s master’s programme ‘Comparative International Education’.

Prior to this, she successfully finished the Teach For Austria Leadership programme in 2020 where she worked as a full-time middle school teacher at a low-income school in Ottakring, Vienna. During her time as a teacher she observed and identified various challenges that inhibited the ideal growth of her students. Therefore, she gradually became more interested in themes such as school improvement, effective teaching, and education policy and was naturally drawn to the work of the SQTE project. She was kindly offered to join the SQTE team where she will contribute to the project through her work as a master’s student.

Starting in October 2020, Christina will be reading for a MSc in Education (Comparative International Education) at Oxford University. As part of this master’s degree she will gain an understanding of the factors that shape the development of educational systems in different parts of the world and the research skills to critically compare policy choices and evaluate the major debates in education.

As part of her master’s thesis, she will closely work with the SQTE project where she will focus on the quantitative research aspects of the data that has already been collected. This funded position will allow her to translate her teaching experience and passion for education into an academic and research based project setting.
Christina is looking forward to her academic journey at Oxford University and the exciting prospects of working at the SQTE project.

Projektmitarbeiterin Christina Hasenhüttl tritt Master in Comparative Education an der Universität Oxford an

Masterarbeit im SQTE Projekt
05/10/2020

Projektmitarbeiterin Christina Hasenhüttl tritt Master in Comparative Education an der Universität Oxford an

Im Oktober 2020 hat sich Christina Hasenhüttl für den Masterstudiengang “Comparative International Education” eingeschrieben und verstärkt im Rahmen ihres Studiums das SQTE Projekt.

Zuvor hat sie erfolgreich das Teach For Austria Leadership-Programm in 2020 absolviert, wobei sie in Vollzeit als Lehrerin an einer einkommensschwachen Mittelschule in Ottakring (Wien) tätig war. Während ihrer Zeit als Lehrerin beobachtete und identifizierte sie verschiedene Herausforderungen, welche die idealen Entwicklungsprozesse ihrer Schüler/innen gehemmt haben. Dadurch wuchs mit der Zeit ihr Interesse für Themen wie Schulverbesserung, effektiver Unterricht und Bildungspolitik, was sie unweigerlich auf das SQTE Projekt aufmerksam machte. Ihr wurde angeboten dem SQTE Team beizutreten und einen Beitrag zu dem Projekt durch ihre Arbeit als Masterstudentin zu leisten.

Im Oktober 2020 wird Christina ihren MSc in Comparative International Education an der Universität Oxford beginnen. Im Rahmen ihres Masterstudiums wird sie Faktoren untersuchen, welche die Entwicklung von Bildungssystemen in verschiedenen Teilen der Welt beeinflussen und wissenschaftliche Fähigkeiten anwenden, um politische Entscheidungen kritisch zu vergleichen und bedeutende Debatten im Bildungsbereich zu evaluieren.

Als Teil ihrer Masterthese wird sie eng mit dem SQTE Projekt zusammenarbeiten und sich auf die quantitative Erforschung der zuvor gesammelten Daten fokussieren. Diese finanziell geförderte Position wird es ihr erlauben, ihre Lehrerfahrung und ihre Leidenschaft für Bildungsthemen in das akademische Umfeld eines Forschungsprojektes zu tragen. Christina freut sich auf ihre akademische Laufbahn an der Universität Oxford und auf die spannende Aussicht, im SQTE Projekt tätig zu sein.