The ‘London Effect’

The ‘London Effect’

In the late 1990s, London’s state schools, particularly those in inner-city areas, were, in general, attaining very poor learning outcomes for their pupils. Gang culture, drugs, violence and radicalism were rife in many of these schools. The subsequent implementation of school quality initiatives on the basis of findings made by school effectiveness research saw London’s schools improve to the point that they now outperform those elsewhere in England:

Within the last 20 years, numerous London schools improved strongly. Today, London has the highest proportion of state schools rated “outstanding” by Ofsted, and the best performance in the GCSE exams by pupils from disadvantaged families (Lenon, 2017). This phenomenon attracted worldwide notice as the ‘London Effect’.

The SQTE project is carrying out research at schools in London which improved substantially in the context of the London effect. The research includes interviews with the protagonists of improvement initiatives, asking them, among other things, to identify the central levers for the improvements to quality that have taken place in their schools and describe how they organise their schools, their core leadership values, the CPD undertaken by teachers at their schools, and how they ensure the high quality of lessons.

One of the schools visited was the St. Paul’s Way Trust School, located in the London borough of Tower Hamlets. 65 % of the school’s pupils are considered disadvantaged as measured by the Free School Meal Score, and, according to the school’s most recent figures, 81,8 % have a first language other than English (current figures of the school).

In 2009, Ofsted inspected the school and rated it “inadequate” (2009 inspection report). Subsequently, under a new headteacher, the school improved dramatically within a short period of time, attaining an “outstanding” rating in 2013 (2013 inspection report). One of the assumptions from which the SQTE project proceeds is that interviewing heads of schools which have undertaken this type of journey is an eminently suitable way of gaining a greater and more practically relevant understanding of school development.

Beispiel “London Effect”

London Effect

In den ausgehenden 1990er Jahren erreichten die öffentlichen Schulen in London, insbesondere jene in der Innenstadt, sehr schlechte Lernergebnisse für ihre Schüler. Bandenwesen, Drogen, Gewalt und Radikalismus bestimmten viele dieser Schulen. Nach Schulqualitätsinitiativen, die auf wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen der Schuleffektivitätsforschung beruhten, überragen heute die Schulen Londons jene im Rest des Landes.

Zahlreiche Schulen haben sich in den letzten 20 Jahren stark verbessert. Dieses Phänomen ist unter dem Begriff „London Effect“ zu weltweit bekannt geworden. In London befindet sich heute der höchste Anteil von öffentlichen Schulen, die von der Inspektionsagentur Ofsted mit „hervorragend“ (outstanding) beurteilt werden. Die Ergebnisse der GCSE Prüfungen (mittlere Reife) für Schüler/innen von benachteiligten Familien sind in London die höchsten im ganzen Land (Lenon 2017). Dieses Phänomen hat als “London Effekt” weltweite Aufmerksamkeit auf sich gezogen.

Im SQTE-Projekt werden Schulen in London, die sich im Zuge des London Effekts sehr stark verbesserten, besucht. Die Protagonisten der Verbesserungsinitiativen werden in Interviews darüber befragt, was die zentralen Hebel für die Qualitätssteigerungen in ihren Schulen waren, wie sie ihre Schule organisieren, was ihnen bei der Leitung der Schule wichtig ist, auf welche Weise die Lehrpersonen an den Schulen weiterentwickelt werden, wie es ihnen gelingt, für qualitätsvollen Unterricht an ihrer Schule zu sorgen usw.

Dabei wurde beispielsweise die St. Paul’s Way Trust School besucht. Die Schule befindet sich in Tower Hamlets, London und ist eine typische Brennpunktschule. 65% der Schüler/innen dieser Schule galten 2017 als benachteiligt (Indikator Free School Meal Score) 81,8 % der Schüler/innen sprachen nicht Englisch als ihre Muttersprache (aktuelle Daten der Schule).

Die Schule wurde 2009 in einer Inspektion mit „inadequate“ beurteilt (siehe Inspektionsbericht). Unter einem neuen Direktor verbesserte sich die Schule innerhalb kurzer Zeit so drastisch, dass die Schule bereits in einer Inspektion im Jahr 2013 von Ofsted mit „outstanding“ beurteilt wurde (siehe Inspektionsbericht). Im SQTE-Projekt gehen wir davon aus, dass durch die Befragung solcher Direktoren ein besseres und praxisrelevantes Verständnis von gelungene Schulentwicklung möglich werden kann.